BTM Newsletter 2024: Vol. 9


Beyond The Manuscript
By Samantha Osei | May 13, 2024

šŸ˜ŽHappy Monday! Word count: 359 - 2.6 mins read

Thank you for your support with my writing projects and other endeavors.

  • āœ‰ļøIF YOU USE GMAIL: Move this to your primary folder so you donā€™t miss out!

šŸ“Personal Note

Typically, my tech job does not require me to work overtime or leave me stressed while away from it. However, sometimes additional work is required for extensive projects. Two weeks of overtime and stress have absorbed more creative energy than I expected.

This spurt of intensity amplified my gratitude for my typical daily life at work and how it affords me to be creative in the morning and/or in the evening most days.

I hope that each day you find ways to be grateful for what you have, even if it has temporarily changed.

Project Tristin

Project Tristin is temporarily on freeze, while I focus on Project Kwame.

Project Kwame

Iā€™ve got the opening hook rewritten and am on to scene 2, which is a new scene that amplifies the hook. Because of this, I have also changed the point of view from the third person (he/she) to the first person. I am not one that writes in first person, but I choose to for this project, as I believe it brings the main character, Kwame, closer to the hearts of the readers and may help them understand his emotions better.

šŸŽ„Upcoming Livestreams

Co-Hosted Productivity Sprints

Tues May 14, 2024 8pm EDT(on Melissa Petersā€™ Channel)

Tues May 21, 2024 8pm EDT

šŸ“–Book of the Month

May

In the months of May and June, Melissa Peters and I are digging into our already purchased and yet to read list. There are many great choices on my infamous ā€œTBRā€ (To Be Read) list. This month, Iā€™ve moved into the realm of science fiction. Andy Weirā€™s Project Hail Mary is Mayā€™s Book of the Month.

Ryaland Grace wakes up to discover he is a million miles from Earth. On a small ship in the middle of space with two corpses as his companions, he must pull the pieces of his memory together to remember his mission in order to resolve an extinction-level threat to humanity.

Join us as we chat about this science fiction thriller on Tues. May 28, 2024 6pm CST/8pm EDT.